Skip to Content

Merton Area Guide

This is an area guide to Merton, and contains information about the best things to do, and places to eat in the borough. You will also find information about the different districts within Merton, and what they have to offer.

Click on the tiles below for more information about different areas of Merton.

Colliers Wood

Merton Area Guide

What Areas Fall Under Merton?

The parliamentary boundaries in Merton divide the borough into two areas: Mitcham and Morden, and Wimbledon. These two general election constituencies are then spilt into 20 local council wards.

The main town centres in Merton include Wimbledon, Mitcham, Morden, Raynes Park, and Colliers Wood.

Merton Borough Map

Is Merton in Surrey or London?

Merton is an outer London borough which was historically in Surrey.

The area gets its name from the historic parish of Merton, which took its name from Merton Priory.  

The original area of Merton was centred around St Mary’s church, which is today in South Wimbledon.

Although you will see some addresses still using the old county boundaries, as a political entity, Merton has been fully absorbed into Greater London, and is no longer part of Surrey.

Merton officially ceased being part of Surrey in 1965 when the current London borough of Merton was formed.

What Towns Are in Merton?

Merton can be divided into six different towns. These include:

Places to Visit in Merton

FAQs About the Merton Area

Is Merton Council Labour or Conservative?

Merton Council is run by a Labour administration.

Is Merton inner London or Outer London

Merton is classed as outer London.

Is Merton Safe?

Merton is one of the safest outer London boroughs, based on Metropolitan police statistics.

Merton Area Guide

Thank you for reading my Merton area guide. Please feel free to leave a comment below if you have any suggestions, or get in touch via email.